Confessions of a naughty reader

Now, you may remember my little rant about Fifty Shades Trilogy a few weeks ago. Well…I am confessing, I am reading book 3 Fifty Shades Freed now. Once you get past the poor writing, the repetitive phrases, gestures and the predictable storyline, the sex saves it. If anyone tells you they are not reading it for the sex they are lying. The sex is titillating, thrilling and not exactly vanilla. 

If you are an fanatic feminist, do not read this book. You will be very angry. If you are into serious BDSM (Bondage, Domination, Sadism, Masochism) do not read this book, it will be a big old yawn for you. I am sure if the Marquis de Sade found that this was called and BDSM book he would convulse in the restraints of his coffin.

It is all fantasy, a young girl falling for a fantastically wealthy, gorgeous, experienced though haunted man. He is messed up and the sexual world he introduces her to is not your everyday experience. For the first time in a long time the world is taken with a book that has a realistic fantasy element, the main character is bizarrely wealthy, he makes $100 000 an hour and he is a philanthropist. No magic, no vampires, no werewolves, the most unbelievable thing about the book is that Anastasia is a 22 year old virgin, so beautiful men would die for her but totally unaware of her beauty, oh and she is not interested in money at all.

Fifty Shades of Grey has topped best-seller lists in the US the UK and around the world. The series has sold around ten million copies worldwide, with book rights having been sold in 37 countries, and set the record as the fastest-selling paperback of all time surpassing the  Harry Potter Series

I have  been thinking about why this book is so successful for a while. Does it speak to the fantasy aspect or is it the left of center sex. I think it is the latter. For the majority of people work, children and life takes up so energy that vanilla sex is all you have time or energy for. This book suggests playing. Spicing things up. Whether you take on the challenge or just revel in the story, I am sure you too won’t be able to stop reading. This is not a classic, you may not even be brave enough to confess that you have read it. It will not survive the ages, it’s a fad, it is short and easy to read, it really is a no brainer, but it fun, and sometimes that is all you need to make your journey a bit more interesting.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a naughty reader

  1. I’m a feminist and I read the first book. Yeah I had a lot of eye rolling moments (and no, I wasn’t punished for eye rolling lol). I’m a feminist but I have a sense of humor and over all I thought the book was funny. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the main character because she’s such a freaking mess, lol. But then again I don’t think this book was intended to be a serious piece of literature much less analyzed from a feminist perspective so we’re cool lol. But I agree if someone were looking at this from a serious feminist perspective they’d probably flip out hahaha.

    • I too am a feminist but I am not into burning pretty lace bra’s. I think Anastasie is incredibly immature, and when you are inthralled by an older more experienced lover you sometimes act like an idiot (I speak from experience). I think quite a few people flip out about the book but secretly read it safely tucked away in Time magazine ;-)

  2. You are quite right. It is a bit difficult to get past the bad writing. When you do, sparks fly. Oo and I didn’t read it three times for the sex. I read it for the sex, the story, the lol’s I still get third time through, and Mr. Christian Grey.

    • I find the book to be “cute”, written by a person who fantasizes about a sex a lot — but doesn’t really get much of it in real life. (Just my impression, I could be totally wrong.) The main character orgasms the very first time she has sex? And a second time shortly after? Really? Another thing that makes me uncomfortable is the unrealistic portray of the female character as virgin and pure (never even kisses anyone before the rich guy if I can remember correctly). The feminist in me wants to know — why is it so important — so sexy apparently — that she is so pure for this perverted man?

Leave a Reply

