Pinterest – a glossary

I have been really excited about starting my latest art course. Our first instruction is was to create 5 inspiration boards on Pinterest. Now, I have pinned before, but after reading quite a few pages on the TOU that Pinterest had I deleted my boards and stopped pinning. Luckily I recently received Pinterest’s new TOU which is much more enlightened. I have been pinning like a maniac. Honestly there are not enough hours in the day.

I do feel that some artists and creative people does not realize that mostly the people who pin on Pinterest are total slaves of the beautiful work they encounter in a medium that is entirely visual. I also think pins should be linked back and credited to the original source. A lot of pins on Pinterest are pinned from other sites that show creative collections and were not properly credited. If you put it out there people are going to love it or hate it. If you don’t like that don’t show it.  The rare idiot will copy your work and try to pawn it off as their own, but they will be found out. Pouring all your energy into ownership is a wate of your creative time.

Speaking of which, I have given up two long days of no Pinning to create this glossary of Pinterest – yes I have it that bad. Started on Monday and were making up pinning words by Friday. I hope you like it. I hope you pin and share it.So please enjoy, I hope it makes you smile :-)

Comments, suggestions, new words are welcome. If you are rude, I will pin you to a wall – Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest – so be nice.

Leave a Reply

